Skip Navigation
Smallest fontMedium fontLargest font
Search site

Councillors' introduction

The Council has 42 Councillors, three of each for the 14 wards, elected to represent the public

As of 14 March 2018 the balance of the Council is:

  • 33 Conservatives
  • 6   Runnymede Independent Residents' Group (RIRG)
  • 1 Independent
  • 2 Vacancies

To find out who is your ward councillor and to contact them, see our pdf icon Know Your Councillors Guide [354kb].

Leader of the Council:   Councillor Nick Prescot
Deputy Leader of the Council:  Councillor Marisa Heath

Leader of Runnymede Independent Residents' Group:  Councillor Alan Alderson
Deputy Leader of Runnymede Independent Residents' Group: Councillor Elaine Gill

The Mayor of Runnymede for 2017-18:  Councillor Iftikhar Chaudhri
Deputy Mayor: Councillor Dolsie Clarke

Runnymede Borough Council has 42 Councillors, three of each for the 14 wards, elected to represent the public. One third of the local borough councillors are up for election, on the first Thursday in May, three years out of four. The fourth year is when Surrey County Council elections are held.

Councillors undertake official duties in their own time and receive a small allowance, mainly to cover out of pocket expenses.

All 42 councillors (the full Council) meet several times each year. They approve the budget, level of Council Tax, consider a variety of key policy issues and discuss local matters of concern and governance.


Rate the quality of this content from 1 star (poor) to 5 (excellent)

Rate this page:

rate this item 1 starrate this item 2 starsrate this item 3 starsrate this item 4 starsrate this item 5 starsCurrent ratings

A to Z of services

We use cookies to help us improve the user experience. By continuing to browse this website you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more about cookies.